You are here

Court Closures

2022 Federal Holiday Schedule

The Court is closed on the following legal holidays for 2022:

Holiday Date of Closure
New Year’s Day * Friday, December 31
Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. Monday, January 17
Washington’s Birthday Monday, February 21
Memorial Day Monday, May 30
Juneteenth Independence Day * Monday, June 20
Independence Day Monday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 5
Columbus Day Monday, October 10
Veterans Day Friday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24
Christmas Day * Monday, December 26
 
* When a legal holiday occurs on a Saturday, it is observed on the Friday immediately preceding the holiday. If the holiday occurs on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday.

Emergency Closure of Courthouses

In the event of hazardous weather that causes the local public schools within a county to close, the Federal Courthouses in that county will also close. However, in the event of an emergency, the Chief Judge retains the discretion to close the Courthouses irrespective of any decision by the public school. Further information can be found in Administrative Order 07-09.