You are here

Court Closures

Federal Holiday Schedule

The Court is closed on the following legal holidays for 2019:

Holiday Date of Closure
New Year’s Day Tuesday, January 1
Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. Monday, January 21
Washington’s Birthday Monday, February 18
Memorial Day Monday, May 27
Independence Day Thursday, July 4 & Friday, July 5
Labor Day Monday, September 2
Columbus Day Monday, October 14
Veterans Day Monday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 28 & *Friday, November 29
  *Tuesday, December 24 - Court Closes at 2:00 p.m.
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25
  *Tuesday, December 31 - Court Closes at 2:00 p.m.
New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1

*General Order 2019-02 Adopting Holiday Closure Schedule

Emergency Closure of Courthouses

In the event of hazardous weather that causes the local public schools within a county to close, the Federal Courthouses in that county will also close. However, in the event of an emergency, the Chief Judge retains the discretion to close the Courthouses irrespective of any decision by the public school. Further information can be found in Administrative Order 07-09.