You are here

Court Closures

Federal Holiday Schedule

The Court is closed on the following legal holidays for 2021:

Holiday Date of Closure
New Year’s Day Friday, January 1
Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. Monday, January 18
Washington’s Birthday Monday, February 15
Memorial Day Monday, May 31
Juneteenth Independence Day * Friday, June 18
Independence Day * Monday, July 5
Labor Day Monday, September 6
Columbus Day Monday, October 11
Veterans Day Thursday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 25
Christmas Day * Friday, December 24
New Year's Day * Friday, December 31
* When a legal holiday occurs on a Saturday, it is observed on the Friday immediately preceding the holiday. If the holiday occurs on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday.

Emergency Closure of Courthouses

In the event of hazardous weather that causes the local public schools within a county to close, the Federal Courthouses in that county will also close. However, in the event of an emergency, the Chief Judge retains the discretion to close the Courthouses irrespective of any decision by the public school. Further information can be found in Administrative Order 07-09.