
Rule 9019-2.  Mediation.

(A) Registration of Mediators.

(1) Mediation Register.  The clerk shall establish and maintain a register of qualified
attorneys and retired federal and state judges who have registered to serve as
mediators in adversary proceedings and contested matters in cases pending in the
court. Attorneys and retired federal and state judges who meet the qualifications
described in subdivision (2) shall be so registered. This subdivision shall not
preclude an individual from serving as a mediator if the parties to the dispute
agree upon the selection of that mediator.  However, a mediator selected by the
parties and not registered under this rule nonetheless shall comply with the other
provisions of this rule where applicable.

(2) Qualifications of Mediator.  To qualify for service as a mediator under this rule,
a mediator must:

(a) be an active member of The Florida Bar and qualified to practice in this
court or be a retired federal or state judge;  

(b) have been admitted to practice in a state or federal court for at least the
past 5 years or be a retired federal or state judge;  

(c) have completed a minimum of 40 hours in a circuit court mediation
training program certified by the Florida Supreme Court or be certified by
the Florida Supreme Court as a circuit court mediator; and

(d) agree to accept at least 2 mediation assignments per year in cases where at
least one party lacks the ability to compensate the mediator, in which case
the mediator’s fees shall be reduced accordingly or the mediator shall
serve pro bono if no litigant is able to contribute compensation.

(3) Procedures for Registration.  Each attorney or retired federal or state judge who
wishes to be included on the register must file the Local Form “Verification of
Qualification to Act as Mediator”.

(4) Removal from Register.  The clerk shall remove a mediator from the register of
mediators at the mediator’s request or at the direction of a majority of the judges
of the court in the exercise of their discretion.  If removed at the mediator’s
request, the mediator may later request to be added to the register by submitting a
new verification form.  Upon receipt of such request, the clerk shall add the
qualified mediator to the register.

(5) Mediator’s Oath.  Every mediator shall take the oath or affirmation prescribed
by 28 U.S.C. § 453 before serving as a mediator.  The oath may be administered
by any person authorized to administer oaths, and proof of the oath or affirmation



shall be included on the Local Form “Verification of Qualification to Act as
Mediator”.

(6) Compensation of Mediators.  Mediators shall be compensated at the rate set by
the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida and as adopted by this
court by local rule or administrative order or at such rate as may be agreed to in
writing by the parties and the mediator selected by the parties.  Absent agreement
of the parties to the contrary, the cost of the mediator’s services shall be borne
equally by the parties to the mediation conference, but a case trustee’s or debtor
in possession’s share of the cost shall be an expense of the estate. 

(B) Referral of Matters to Mediation.

(1) Manner of Referral.  The court may order the assignment of a matter or
proceeding to mediation at a pretrial conference or other hearing, upon the request
of any party in interest or the U.S. trustee, or upon the court’s own motion.  The
court shall use the Local Form “Order of Referral to Mediation”,  which shall: (a)
designate the trial or hearing date, (b) direct that mediation be conducted not later
than 10 days before the scheduled trial or hearing, and (c) require the parties to
agree upon a mediator within 7 days after the date of the order.  The parties shall
timely file the Local Form “Notice of Selection of Mediator”,  failing which the
clerk shall designate a mediator from the clerk’s register on a random basis within
court divisions using the Local Form “Notice of Clerk’s Designation of Mediator”
and serve this notice on the required parties.  Notwithstanding the assignment of a
matter or proceeding to mediation, the court shall set such matter or proceeding
for trial, final hearing, pretrial conference or other proceeding as is appropriate in
accordance with the Bankruptcy Rules and these rules.

(2) Disqualification of Mediator for Cause.  Any person selected as a mediator may
be disqualified for bias or prejudice as provided in 28 U.S.C. § 144 and shall be
disqualified in any action in which the mediator would be required to do so if the
mediator were a judge governed by 28 U.S.C. § 455.

(3) Replacement of Mediator.  If any party to the mediation conference, for any
reason, objects to the designated mediator, then within 3 days from the date of the
notice of designation, the objecting party shall file with the clerk, and serve upon
the mediator and all other parties to the mediation, a request for an alternate
mediator including in the request the name of any alternate mediator already
agreed upon by the parties.  If the alternate mediator has been agreed upon, the
clerk shall designate that mediator. Otherwise, the clerk shall designate a second
mediator from the register of mediators on a random basis and shall serve a
second notice of designation on all parties to the mediation conference and on the
designated mediator.  Each party shall be entitled to one challenge to any clerk-
designated mediator.  A mediator who is unable to serve shall, within 5 days from
the date of the notice of designation, serve on the clerk and all parties to the
mediation a written notice of inability to serve, and the clerk shall designate an



alternate mediator in the manner described above. 

(4) No Stay.  Notwithstanding a matter being referred to mediation, discovery and
preparation for trial or final hearing shall not be stayed by mediation.

(5) Types of Cases Subject to Mediation.  Any adversary proceeding or contested
matter may be referred by the court to mediation.

(C) Mediation Conference.

(1) Notice and Procedures.  Upon consultation with the parties and their attorneys,
the mediator shall fix a reasonable time and place for the mediation conference,
except as otherwise agreed by the parties or by order of the court, and shall give
the parties at least 10 days’ advance written notice of the conference.  The
conference shall be set as soon after the entry of the mediation order and as far in
advance of the final evidentiary hearing as practicable.  In keeping with the goal
of prompt dispute resolution, the mediator shall have the duty and authority to
establish the time for all mediation activities including a deadline for the parties
to act upon a settlement or upon mediated recommendations.

(2) Attendance of Parties Mandatory.  An attorney who is responsible for each
party’s case shall attend the mediation conference.  Each individual party and the
representatives of each non-individual party shall appear with the full authority to
negotiate the amount and issues in dispute without further consultation.  The
mediator shall determine when the parties are to be present in the conference
room.  No party can be required to participate in a mediation conference for more
than 2 hours.

(3) Public Entity as Party.  If a party to mediation is a public entity, either a federal
agency or an entity required to conduct its business pursuant to Chapter 286,
Florida Statutes, that party shall be deemed to appear at a mediation conference
by the physical presence of a representative with full authority to negotiate on
behalf of the entity and to recommend settlement to the appropriate decision-
making body of the entity.

(4) Failure to Attend.  The mediator shall report to the court willful failure to attend
the mediation conference or to participate in the mediation process in good faith,
which failure may result in the imposition of sanctions by the court.

(D) Recommendations of Mediator.  The mediator shall have no obligation to make any 
written comments or recommendations other than the report required by subdivision (E).  If a
written recommendation is prepared, no copy shall be filed with the court.

(E) Post-Mediation Procedures.  Within 5 days after the mediation conference, the mediator 
shall file with the court a report showing compliance or non-compliance by the parties with the
mediation order and the results of the mediation, using the Local Form “Report of Mediator”.  In



the event there is an impasse, the mediator shall report that there is a lack of agreement, and shall
make no further comment or recommendation.  If the parties have reached an agreement
regarding the disposition of the matter or proceeding, they shall prepare and submit to the court
within 10 days after the filing of the mediator’s report an appropriate stipulation of settlement
and joint motion for its  approval.  Failure to file such a motion shall be a basis for the court to
impose appropriate sanctions. If the mediator’s report shows mediation has ended in an impasse,
the matter will be tried as scheduled.

(F) Confidentiality.  Conduct or statements made in the course of mediation proceedings 
constitute “conduct or statements made in compromise negotiations” within the meaning of Rule
408 of the Federal Rules of Evidence, and no evidence inadmissible under Rule 408 shall be
admitted or otherwise disclosed to the court.

(G) Withdrawal from Mediation.  Any action or claim referred to mediation pursuant to 
this rule may be exempt or withdrawn from mediation by the presiding judge at any time, before
or after reference, upon motion of a party and/or a determination for any reason that the case is
not suitable for mediation.

(H) Compliance with Bankruptcy Code and Rules.  Nothing in this rule shall relieve any 
debtor, party in interest, or the U.S. trustee from complying with any other orders of the court,
the Bankruptcy Code, the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, or these rules.


